Timothy Graves

Dr. Timothy P. Graves

General Manager Physical Sciences Laboratories


Dr. Timothy P. Graves is the general manager of the Aerospace Physical Sciences Laboratories (PSL) at The Aerospace Corporation, which is responsible for foundational and applied scientific research to support across national security space (NSS), NASA/civil programs, industry, and academia. PSL research supports corporate and customer innovation, leveraging scientific depth and advancement across areas of materials, propulsion, photonics, energy, space environment, and sensor technology/development. Graves leads the PSL team of world-class scientists and engineers in collaboration across Aerospace and beyond to preserve, develop, and advance the scientific foundation for the space community.  

Graves joined The Aerospace Corporation in 2006 as a senior member of the technical staff in the Space Materials Laboratory, Laboratory Operations, where he developed new research and laboratories for space plasma effects. He later became the manager of the Electric Propulsion and Plasma Science group, growing Aerospace laboratory support in multiple technical areas and customers. In 2012, Graves transferred to the Space Based Surveillance Division, Space Systems Group, supporting the Chief Engineering Office for the SBIRS program. He then relocated to Chantilly to join the Reconnaissance Systems Office, Imagery Programs Division, National Systems Group, managing critical mission areas and multiple payload acquisitions. In 2017, Graves transitioned to principal director, Survivability and Resilience Office, Advanced Technology Division, National Systems Group. In this role, he developed and grew a new program office in the critical area of space resiliency across multiple customer sets and mission partners. 


Graves has a bachelor’s degree in chemical engineering from Texas A&M University and a Ph.D. in applied plasma physics from Massachusetts Institute of Technology. 

Awards and Honors 

Graves was awarded the Aerospace President’s Award in 2012 and the Aerospace Trustees’ Award in 2017. 

Media Inquiries

Dianna Ramirez
Media Relations Corporate Communications and Public Affairs Division